Photo of Sohrab Salimi
Sohrab Salimi

Reading time
1 Minutes

Artifacts are part of the Scrum framework. The Scrum Guide defines them as follows:

"Scrum's artifacts represent work or value. They are designed to maximize transparency of key information. Thus, everyone inspecting them has the same basis for adaptation."

The three Scrum artifacts are the Sprint Backlog, the Product Backlog, and the Product Increment.

The first two represent work that has not happened yet. The Product Increment represents what the team has achieved so far. Each artifact contains a commitment that enhances transparency and focus, against which progress can be measured, existing to reinforce empiricism and the Scrum values for the Scrum Team and their stakeholders. For the Product Backlog, it is the Product Goal. For the Sprint Backlog, it is the Sprint Goal. For the Increment, it is the Definition of Done.

If you want to learn more about each artifact and their commitments, follow the links on this page or have a chat with Henrik.

Related articles

Kanban Board

Learn more about the Kanban Board. How to use, work and optimize your work with a Kanban Board is explained at Agile Academy.

Las Vegas Rule

Why some agile teams use the so called Las Vegas Rule and what it really means is topic of this article in our dictionary at Agile Academy.


The Backlog is the sum of requirements used on customer needs for a Scrum Team. These desired Features are prioritised by the Product Owner.